top of page

Fire Risk Assessment Services

Your Fire Safety Partner: Understanding the 4 Types of Fire Risk Assessments

Keeping your occupants safe from fire is paramount. Fire risk assessments play a crucial role in identifying and mitigating potential hazards, ensuring everyone can evacuate safely in an emergency. But with 4 different types of assessments available, choosing the right one can be confusing.

Fear not, we're here to demystify the process and help you make the best decision for your property.

Type 1: The Essential Checkup (Common Parts, Non-Destructive)

Think of this as the basic health check for your building's common areas. A Type 1 assessment focuses on readily accessible areas like hallways, stairwells, and fire exits. It's non-destructive, so no drilling or digging is involved. This assessment identifies obvious risks like blocked escape routes, faulty alarms, and flammable materials stored in the wrong places.

Ideal for:

  • Most low-risk buildings with good fire safety practices.

  • Buildings where access to individual premises is difficult.

Type 2: Going Deeper (Common Parts, Destructive)

This assessment takes a more in-depth look at the common areas, venturing beyond surface appearances. Destructive testing may be involved, opening up walls or ceilings to check for issues like inadequate fire compartmentation or hidden electrical faults. Type 2 assessments are more rigorous and reveal hidden dangers that Type 1 might miss.

Ideal for:

  • Buildings with a history of fire safety concerns.

  • Older buildings with potential structural or electrical issues.

  • Buildings undergoing major renovations or alterations.

Type 3: Expanding the Scope (Common Parts & Flats, Non-Destructive)

Type 3 goes beyond the common areas and delves into individual flats or apartments. Similar to Type 1, it's non-destructive, relying on observations and discussions with occupants. This assessment identifies risks within living spaces, such as overloaded electrical sockets, malfunctioning cooking appliances, and improper storage of flammable materials.

Ideal for:

  • Buildings where internal fire risks are suspected.

  • Buildings with vulnerable occupants like the elderly or young children.

  • Newly occupied buildings or those with high tenant turnover.

Type 4: The Most Thorough Exam (Common Parts & Flats, Destructive)

This is the most comprehensive fire risk assessment, offering a 360-degree view of your building's fire safety. Like Type 2, it involves both common areas and individual flats, but with the added dimension of destructive testing within both. This is where hidden dangers in walls, floors, and ceilings are uncovered, ensuring no stone is left unturned.

Ideal for:

  • Buildings with serious fire safety concerns identified in previous assessments.

  • Buildings with major structural alterations or suspected hidden defects.

  • Buildings with a high risk of fire due to hazardous materials or processes.

Remember: The best type of fire risk assessment is the one that best suits your specific needs. We recommend consulting with a qualified fire safety professional to determine the right fit for your building.

By understanding the 4 types of fire risk assessments, you can ensure your building is equipped to handle any potential fire threat, safeguarding the lives of your occupants and the integrity of your property.

bottom of page